#1  
Old 3rd October 2009, 02:08 PM
Charalampos Michael
 
Posts: n/a
Default Nexus Control and LAN

Hello,
It would be nice if Nexus Control identifies if you're trying to
connect to a PC which is within LAN and connect locally instead
passing through internet.

Eg,

Server -> Nexus Controls
MyPCDomain -> Nexus Host

The Server nexus controls should use the LAN IP of the Nexus Host
(eg, 192.168.1.123) instead of the External Internet IP to
control the remote session.
  #2  
Old 5th October 2009, 07:24 AM
Hannes Danzl[NDD]
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Nexus Control and LAN

Charalampos Michael wrote:

> Hello,
> It would be nice if Nexus Control identifies if you're trying to
> connect to a PC which is within LAN and connect locally instead
> passing through internet.


Any such "recognition" is in reality nothing else than a guess. How does the
system know whether a "local network" really is faster or the better solution?

The correct solution to that problem is to setup your network with the rigth
metrics. Once that is done the TCP layer will take care of any such
"intelligent routing".

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299540
  #3  
Old 5th October 2009, 08:19 AM
Hannes Danzl[NDD]
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Nexus Control and LAN

Charalampos Michael wrote:

> Hello,
> It would be nice if Nexus Control identifies if you're trying to
> connect to a PC which is within LAN and connect locally instead
> passing through internet.
>
> Eg,
>
> Server -> Nexus Controls
> MyPCDomain -> Nexus Host
>
> The Server nexus controls should use the LAN IP of the Nexus Host
> (eg, 192.168.1.123) instead of the External Internet IP to
> control the remote session.


Just realized that your question could be interpreted in a different way. If
you mean that there are two gateways (one on the local network and one on the
internet). I would say that the above suggested multi gateway solution with
automatic fallback would be a feasible solution. This way your local gateway
would be the first in the list and the internet one would only be chosen if
the local one is unreachable/down.
  #4  
Old 9th October 2009, 07:17 PM
ornotp
 
Posts: n/a
Default Multiple uploads


Hi,

Is there a possibility to upload file from several hosts at the same
time? When I strat to upload in a second FileTransfer window, than in
the first one, the upload process waits until the second is finished. I
don't have this problem with downloads.


--
ornotp
  #5  
Old 13th October 2009, 04:23 PM
ornotp
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Multiple uploads


Is it working by you in the same way? I'm developing a software which is
able to upgrade other software by ours customers and it would be very
usefull to upload files to several hosts at the same time.

Thank you in advance


--
ornotp
  #6  
Old 13th October 2009, 07:49 PM
Hannes Danzl[NDD]
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Multiple uploads

ornotp wrote:

>
> Is it working by you in the same way? I'm developing a software which is
> able to upgrade other software by ours customers and it would be very
> usefull to upload files to several hosts at the same time.
>
> Thank you in advance


Hi. Sorry, we've overlooked your question. Will investigate ...
  #7  
Old 15th October 2009, 08:17 PM
Charalampos Michael
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Nexus Control and LAN

Dear Hannes,

>> The Server nexus controls should use the LAN IP of the Nexus Host
>> (eg, 192.168.1.123) instead of the External Internet IP to
>> control the remote session.

>
> Just realized that your question could be interpreted in a different way. If
> you mean that there are two gateways (one on the local network and one on the
> internet). I would say that the above suggested multi gateway solution with
> automatic fallback would be a feasible solution. This way your local gateway
> would be the first in the list and the internet one would only be chosen if
> the local one is unreachable/down.


I like that idea, please add it to mantis
  #8  
Old 15th October 2009, 08:17 PM
Charalampos Michael
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Nexus Control and LAN

Dear Hannes,

>> The Server nexus controls should use the LAN IP of the Nexus Host
>> (eg, 192.168.1.123) instead of the External Internet IP to
>> control the remote session.

>
> Just realized that your question could be interpreted in a different way. If
> you mean that there are two gateways (one on the local network and one on the
> internet). I would say that the above suggested multi gateway solution with
> automatic fallback would be a feasible solution. This way your local gateway
> would be the first in the list and the internet one would only be chosen if
> the local one is unreachable/down.


I like that idea, please add it to mantis
  #9  
Old 15th October 2009, 08:22 PM
Charalampos Michael
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Nexus Control and LAN

Dear Hannes,

>> Hello,
>> It would be nice if Nexus Control identifies if you're trying to
>> connect to a PC which is within LAN and connect locally instead
>> passing through internet.

>
> Any such "recognition" is in reality nothing else than a guess. How does the
> system know whether a "local network" really is faster or the better solution?
>
> The correct solution to that problem is to setup your network with the rigth
> metrics. Once that is done the TCP layer will take care of any such
> "intelligent routing".
>
> http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299540


Well another Example ...

(Server outside the LAN)
Gateway: 88.88.88.88 (Internet IP)

(Below both on the same LAN)
Host: 192.168.1.10 (Internet IP: 99.99.99.99)
Remote: 192.168.1.2 (Internet IP: 99.99.99.99)

Currently the route is:
99.99.99.99(Remote) -> 88.88.88.88 (Gateway) -> 99.99.99.99 (Host)

My idea is to make the route:
99.99.99.99(Remote) -> 88.88.88.88 (Gateway) -> 192.168.1.10 (Host)

Thank you
  #10  
Old 15th October 2009, 08:22 PM
Charalampos Michael
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Nexus Control and LAN

Dear Hannes,

>> Hello,
>> It would be nice if Nexus Control identifies if you're trying to
>> connect to a PC which is within LAN and connect locally instead
>> passing through internet.

>
> Any such "recognition" is in reality nothing else than a guess. How does the
> system know whether a "local network" really is faster or the better solution?
>
> The correct solution to that problem is to setup your network with the rigth
> metrics. Once that is done the TCP layer will take care of any such
> "intelligent routing".
>
> http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299540


Well another Example ...

(Server outside the LAN)
Gateway: 88.88.88.88 (Internet IP)

(Below both on the same LAN)
Host: 192.168.1.10 (Internet IP: 99.99.99.99)
Remote: 192.168.1.2 (Internet IP: 99.99.99.99)

Currently the route is:
99.99.99.99(Remote) -> 88.88.88.88 (Gateway) -> 99.99.99.99 (Host)

My idea is to make the route:
99.99.99.99(Remote) -> 88.88.88.88 (Gateway) -> 192.168.1.10 (Host)

Thank you


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.