NexusDB Newsgroups

NexusDB Newsgroups (http://www.nexusdb.com/forums/index.php)
-   nexusdb.public.support.qualitysuite (http://www.nexusdb.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   OutputDebugString(PChar('Quality Suite:TRACING:ON')); (http://www.nexusdb.com/forums/showthread.php?t=20542)

tfield98 28th September 2018 12:19 PM

OutputDebugString(PChar('Quality Suite:TRACING:ON'));
 
The help system says:

Quote:

When using trigger mode, tracing doesn?t start until a trigger routine executes. However, you may control the tracing from within your module by issuing calls to the standard Win32 API function OutputDebugString. Passing the argument "Quality Suite:TRACING:ON" switches tracing on and the argument "Quality Suite:TRACING:OFF" switches tracing off from within your code
I haven?t been able to get this to work.

My small test program traces fine if I set ?Always on? in the tool bar.

But if set the field to Trigger Activated?, I get no tracing after the code executes the line below:

OutputDebugString(PChar('Quality Suite:TRACING:ON'));

Any suggestions on what I might be doing wrong?

Eivind 2nd October 2018 11:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tfield98 (Post 111343)
The help system says:

I haven?t been able to get this to work.

My small test program traces fine if I set ?Always on? in the tool bar.

But if set the field to Trigger Activated?, I get no tracing after the code executes the line below:

OutputDebugString(PChar('Quality Suite:TRACING:ON'));

Any suggestions on what I might be doing wrong?

I'm sorry, it appears the help file was out of sync with the tools. For most of the tools, the exact strings to use are

NQS:TRACING:OFF
NQS:TRACING:ON

The only exception to this is the Method Timer, which replaces NQS above with METHODTIMER. I will change that for the next release to make all tools use the same NQS string, and update the help.

tfield98 28th October 2018 12:59 AM

NQS:TRACING:ON failing too
 
In a small test program, Method Timer works fine when run with Mode set to Always On.

However, when I run it with Trigger Activated, even after the two lines below being executed, I get no trace

Code:

outputdebugString(PChar('METHODTIMER:TRACING:ON'));
outputdebugString(PChar('NQS:TRACING:ON'));

Any suggestions on how to activate a trigger in the code in Version 1.6001?

Thanks.

Tom

Eivind Bakkestuen [NDD] 17th November 2018 05:37 PM

Re: OutputDebugString(PChar('Quality Suite:TRACING:ON'));
 
> PChar('METHODTIMER:TRACING:ON')

Sorry about the delay. Having done a test, it appears the above does
turn tracing on and off (you can see one line which changes in the
trace grid). However, there's only ever that one line, so there is a
problem getting a trace result. I will investigate and fix.

--
Eivind Bakkestuen [NDD]


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 03:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.