#1  
Old 19th December 2011, 09:11 PM
susoftware susoftware is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Default Problem in VS2010

Hi -

using the ADO.NET provider 2.0.7.122, I'm getting serious errors when I try to create an EF model from database. It doesn't matter whether I choose a native or non-native connection type. I'm using NxServer 3.0.10 in my test environment. Connections using the server explorer inside VS2010 correctly show the tables, the error only occurs when I try to generate the EF model. After the error occurs, the nxServer must be restarted.

Here are two screenshots:

Using Native conn.
Native conn. disabled
Here's the nxServer's error log.

I hope you can help me.

Thanks,

Bernhard
  #2  
Old 19th December 2011, 10:51 PM
Eivind Bakkestuen [NDD]
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Problem in VS2010

> using the ADO.NET provider 2.0.7.122, I'm getting serious errors when
> I try to create an EF model from database. It doesn't matter whether I
> choose a native or non-native connection type. I'm using NxServer
> 3.0.10 in my test environment. Connections using the server explorer
> inside VS2010 correctly show the tables, the error only occurs when I
> try to generate the EF model. After the error occurs, the nxServer
> must be restarted.


Please log the issue in our online issue tracker and we'll investigate.
Include info on OS etc.


--
Eivind Bakkestuen [NDD]
  #3  
Old 22nd December 2011, 04:23 PM
Hannes Danzl[NDD]
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Problem in VS2010

susoftware wrote:

>
> Hi -
>
> using the ADO.NET provider 2.0.7.122, I'm getting serious errors when I
> try to create an EF model from database. It doesn't matter whether I
> choose a native or non-native connection type. I'm using NxServer 3.0.10
> in my test environment. Connections using the server explorer inside
> VS2010 correctly show the tables, the error only occurs when I try to
> generate the EF model. After the error occurs, the nxServer must be
> restarted.


Please note that EF support is still experimental. THat said we're of course
interested to sort this out. Can ou please try to use the command line tool to
generate the model? It is much more verbose about the progress of the
generation. Ideally we would like to get our hands on the database that you
use.

--
Hannes Danzl / NexusDB

Manuals - http://www.nexusdb.com/support/index..._manual_v3.htm
Issue Tracker - http://www.nexusdb.com/mantis/view_all_bug_page.php
Newsgroup Web Gateway - http://www.nexusdb.com/forums/
Newsgroup Search - http://www.nexusdb.com/forums/search.php
  #4  
Old 22nd December 2011, 07:31 PM
susoftware susoftware is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hannes Danzl[NDD] View Post
Please note that EF support is still experimental. THat said we're of course
interested to sort this out. Can ou please try to use the command line tool to
generate the model? It is much more verbose about the progress of the
generation. Ideally we would like to get our hands on the database that you
use.
edmgen doesn't like my command line:

Code:
edmgen /mode:fullgeneration /c
:"Server=192.168.130.100;Database=Northwind;Port=16000;Native=True;Embedded=False" /project:NxTest /entitycontainer:NxTestEntities /namespace:NxTestModel /language:CSharp /prov:NexusDB.ADOProvider

Microsoft (R) EdmGen Version 4.0.0.0
Copyright (C) 2008 Microsoft Corporation. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

Fehler 7001: Nach dem Aufruf der Methode 'GetService' für eine Speicheranbieterinstanz vom Typ 'NexusDB.ADOProvider.NexusDBProviderFactory' wurde ein null-Wert
zurückgegeben. Der Speicheranbieter funktioniert möglicherweise nicht ordnungsgemäß.

Generierung abgeschlossen -- 1 Fehler, 0 Warnungen
The database I'm using to test this is your provided Northwind sample database.

I've also added a note to the bug report detailing where the problem occurs - the statement will also crash the NexusDB server when executed from Enterprise manager.
  #5  
Old 30th January 2012, 06:24 PM
susoftware susoftware is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Hi -

any update on this? I really need a working EF model for my current project...

Thanks!
  #6  
Old 30th January 2012, 11:51 PM
Eivind Bakkestuen [NDD]
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Problem in VS2010

> any update on this? I really need a working EF model for my current
> project...


Please see my earlier message; log the problem in our online Issue
tracker. It will then be worked on in due course.

--
Eivind Bakkestuen [NDD]
  #7  
Old 31st January 2012, 06:28 PM
susoftware susoftware is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Default

I already added a tracker item, as pointed out above. I can't see it, however, so I'll create a new one, maybe I did something wrong.

I just reinstalled VS2010 and NexusDB along with the ADO.NET Provider on a fresh Windows 7 machine, the problem still exists as pointed out above.
  #8  
Old 31st January 2012, 06:31 PM
susoftware susoftware is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Default

The tracker item (the one I originally posted) is #0001314.

Thanks
Bernhard
  #9  
Old 28th February 2012, 10:59 PM
pietera pietera is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Angry Connectivity frustration

This is a problem for me as well. I have upgraded to V2 (not used) and now V3 (still quite not there yet) and found the connection to nexusDB V3 via the ADO(trial) and the ODBC driver(purchased), using VS2010 not fully reliable. In fact i would like to know if someone in the community uses the VS2010.net sucessfully with NexusDB using either the ADO or the ODBC driver.

I have tried several ways to use NexusDB as the backend database for Web Development. Up to this point it is a frustration beyond words.

I am sure that most of the developers are moving towards the browser based environment with their applications. Unfortunately we are being forced the MS way due to connectivity problems to other (better?) databases.
  #10  
Old 28th February 2012, 11:33 PM
Rodrigo Gomez [NDX]
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Problem in VS2010

pietera wrote:
> This is a problem for me as well. I have upgraded to V2 (not used) and
> now V3 (still quite not there yet) and found the connection to nexusDB
> V3 via the ADO(trial) and the ODBC driver(purchased), using VS2010 not
> fully reliable. In fact i would like to know if someone in the community
> uses the VS2010.net sucessfully with NexusDB using either the ADO or the
> ODBC driver.
>


I have been using the ADO provider with VS2010 for the past months. It works. There have
been some issues, reported on the past and mostly are already fixed. I still have problems
debugging (internal exceptions that "bubble up" into the debug session and make it unable
to continue) from time to time. It happens in my project, not in a simple test case, so
that issue is still pending. Other than that, the last released version (I don't know if
the trial is updated or not) works fine with VS2010.

But, now that I'm thinking, I usually don't use the visual stuff. I mean, I can see and
maybe work with the connection in the IDE and display the tables and so on, but I don't
use that at all, so I'm not entirely sure if that works fine.

HTH,

--
Rodrigo Gómez [NDX]
Barcelona, GMT+1



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't create Data Source VS2010 gorlaz nexusdb.public.support.adoprovider 5 18th March 2011 11:23 AM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.