#1  
Old 11th November 2003, 10:37 AM
Pierre Demers
 
Posts: n/a
Default 3 questions

Hello,

1) is it possible to use an index inside the result of a query. For
instance, i could use an index to reorder the query instead of having to
redo a query only changing the orderby clause. If it's not possible... why
not? Is it hard to implement?

2) is there in Nexus a way to copy the structure and the contents of a query
into a table on the disk. Something like copystructureNcontents2table
function, for instance?

3) I know that i can use filters but i find that scopes can be a lot lot
faster than filters. Are you going to implement scopes soon?

TIA
Pierre


---
Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 6.0.538 / Virus Database: 333 - Release Date: 2003-11-10


  #2  
Old 11th November 2003, 11:35 AM
Rodrigo Gómez [NDX]
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 3 questions

> 1) is it possible to use an index inside the result of a query. For
> instance, i could use an index to reorder the query instead of having to
> redo a query only changing the orderby clause. If it's not possible... why
> not? Is it hard to implement?


I guess this is not possible, but haven't tryed. The reason: the query is a
*new* recordset, and this temp dataset doesn't have any index. You could use
the SELECT INTO feature to insert the query into an existing, already
defined, table and use the index from that table.

> 2) is there in Nexus a way to copy the structure and the contents of a

query
> into a table on the disk. Something like copystructureNcontents2table
> function, for instance?


SELECT INTO can help you, as it will copy the fields into a new table

For example:

SELECT * INTO "NewTable" FROM "OldTable" will copy all the contents from the
table OldTable into a new physical table named NewTable. This will only copy
the field defs, though.

HTH

--
Rodrigo Gómez [NDX]
rgomez@msa.sinspam.com.mx
(remove "sinspam." from the address)


"Pierre Demers" <pierredemers@NOSPAMsympatico.ca> escribió en el mensaje
news:3fb0217d@wic040d....
> Hello,
>
> 1) is it possible to use an index inside the result of a query. For
> instance, i could use an index to reorder the query instead of having to
> redo a query only changing the orderby clause. If it's not possible... why
> not? Is it hard to implement?
>
> 2) is there in Nexus a way to copy the structure and the contents of a

query
> into a table on the disk. Something like copystructureNcontents2table
> function, for instance?
>
> 3) I know that i can use filters but i find that scopes can be a lot lot
> faster than filters. Are you going to implement scopes soon?
>
> TIA
> Pierre
>
>
> ---
> Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
> Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
> Version: 6.0.538 / Virus Database: 333 - Release Date: 2003-11-10
>
>



  #3  
Old 11th November 2003, 11:50 AM
Eivind Bakkestuen [NDD]
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 3 questions

> 1) is it possible to use an index inside the result of a query. For
> instance, i could use an index to reorder the query instead of having
> to redo a query only changing the orderby clause. If it's not
> possible... why not? Is it hard to implement?


It is currently not possible. Why not? I don't think this is provided for in
the SQL standard. You could of course use SELECT .. INTO .. and then ALTER
the resulting table to add the indexes you wanted.

> 2) is there in Nexus a way to copy the structure and the contents of
> a query into a table on the disk. Something like
> copystructureNcontents2table function, for instance?


There is currently not one function that does it all. If you look at the EM,
the Copy To Tables menu item in the Table browser has example code to do it.
Added to wishlist, issue #535.

> 3) I know that i can use filters but i find that scopes can be a lot
> lot faster than filters. Are you going to implement scopes soon?


The only ref I can find to Scopes is in Apollo. Is it similar to Range in
Borland's TDataSet?

--


Eivind Bakkestuen [NDD]
Please, no email unless requested.
Search Borland and third-party newsgroups here: www.tamaracka.com



  #4  
Old 11th November 2003, 12:03 PM
Pierre Demers
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 3 questions

Thanks Rodrigo

Pierre


---
Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 6.0.538 / Virus Database: 333 - Release Date: 2003-11-10


  #5  
Old 11th November 2003, 12:12 PM
Pierre Demers
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 3 questions

> There is currently not one function that does it all. If you look at the
EM,
> the Copy To Tables menu item in the Table browser has example code to do

it.
> Added to wishlist, issue #535.

Thanks Eivind

> > 3) I know that i can use filters but i find that scopes can be a lot
> > lot faster than filters. Are you going to implement scopes soon?

>
> The only ref I can find to Scopes is in Apollo. Is it similar to Range in
> Borland's TDataSet?

No, it's not Apollo. I currently use Advantage. I am currently converting an
app. and i use scopes some places combined with filters and it's a winner
for me. With a table containing 1,000,000 records it is quite efficient even
with small machine like pentium 133 for instance. I am hopefull and wish to
find something that has the same performance with Nexus( I'll know soon). At
first with Advantage for that particular task, I was using only filters and
the performance was less than desirable. With scopes + filters, it is just
great. I guess I am going to try the range + filter to see how it goes...

Thanks
Pierre



---
Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 6.0.538 / Virus Database: 333 - Release Date: 2003-11-10


  #6  
Old 11th November 2003, 06:16 PM
Per Larsen
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 3 questions

Pierre,

>With scopes + filters, it is just great. I guess I am going to try the

range + filter to see how it goes...

If your investigations turn out to be unsatisfactory, I guess you'll have to
explain those of us who are not familiar with scopes (in this context)
exactly what they are and how they're useful to you.

- Per


  #7  
Old 11th November 2003, 09:24 PM
Keith Johnson [NDX]
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 3 questions

"Pierre Demers" <pierredemers@NOSPAMsympatico.ca> wrote in
news:3fb0217d@wic040d.:

> 3) I know that i can use filters but i find that scopes can be a lot
> lot faster than filters. Are you going to implement scopes soon?



Hi Pierre,

After doing a search on Tamaraka, it appears scopes are ranges in Nexus,
and yes, mixing Ranges & Filters with Nexus is very fast..


--
Keith Johnson [NDX]
  #8  
Old 11th November 2003, 11:21 PM
Pierre Demers
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 3 questions

Hello Per,

> If your investigations turn out to be unsatisfactory, I guess you'll have

to
> explain those of us who are not familiar with scopes (in this context)
> exactly what they are and how they're useful to you.

Having not done the tests yet with Nexus, I can tell you why it's great for
me. Because the advantage scopes have a top-bottom option set by default.
Which means that if I write something like this

AdsTable1.ScopeBegin := eSearch.text;
AdsTable1.ScopeEnd := eSearch.text;
AdsTable1.Scoped := True;

For instance, if I type only the letter B in eSearch.text, I will get in the
scope all the list of items that start with B through C not included.

B123
B554
B945
etc

I am not too familiar with ranges but I guess only typing B in eSearch.text
will get me nothing, unless I write other parameters, like RangeFrom = B and
RangeEnd = B945 and applyrange would do it, although it's done implicitly
with Advantage using scopes.

It's may be a silly question but what parameters would you use with ranges
to get the same result as ADS scopes?


Thanks
Pierre
Hello Per,

> If your investigations turn out to be unsatisfactory, I guess you'll have

to
> explain those of us who are not familiar with scopes (in this context)
> exactly what they are and how they're useful to you.

Having not done the tests yet with Nexus, I can tell you why it's great for
me. Because the advantage scopes have a top-bottom option set by default.
Which means that if I write something like this

AdsTable1.ScopeBegin := eSearch.text;
AdsTable1.ScopeEnd := eSearch.text;
AdsTable1.Scoped := True;

For instance, if I type only the letter B in eSearch.text, I will get in the
scope all the list of items that start with B through C not included.

B123
B554
B945
etc

I am not too familiar with ranges but I guess only typing B in eSearch.text
will get me nothing, unless I write other parameters, like RangeFrom = B and
RangeEnd = B945 and applyrange would do it, although it's done implicitly
with Advantage using scopes.

It's may be a silly question but what parameters would you use with ranges
to get the same result as ADS scopes?


Thanks
Pierre


  #9  
Old 12th November 2003, 12:23 AM
Keith Johnson [NDX]
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 3 questions

"Pierre Demers" <pierredemers@NOSPAMsympatico.ca> wrote in
news:3fb0d46a@wic040d.:

> Hello Per,
>
>> If your investigations turn out to be unsatisfactory, I guess you'll
>> have

> to
>> explain those of us who are not familiar with scopes (in this
>> context) exactly what they are and how they're useful to you.

> Having not done the tests yet with Nexus, I can tell you why it's
> great for me. Because the advantage scopes have a top-bottom option
> set by default. Which means that if I write something like this
>
> AdsTable1.ScopeBegin := eSearch.text;
> AdsTable1.ScopeEnd := eSearch.text;
> AdsTable1.Scoped := True;
>
> For instance, if I type only the letter B in eSearch.text, I will get
> in the scope all the list of items that start with B through C not
> included.
>
> B123
> B554
> B945
> etc
>
> I am not too familiar with ranges but I guess only typing B in
> eSearch.text will get me nothing, unless I write other parameters,
> like RangeFrom = B and RangeEnd = B945 and applyrange would do it,
> although it's done implicitly with Advantage using scopes.
>
> It's may be a silly question but what parameters would you use with
> ranges to get the same result as ADS scopes?
>
>
> Thanks
> Pierre
> Hello Per,
>
>> If your investigations turn out to be unsatisfactory, I guess you'll
>> have

> to
>> explain those of us who are not familiar with scopes (in this
>> context) exactly what they are and how they're useful to you.

> Having not done the tests yet with Nexus, I can tell you why it's
> great for me. Because the advantage scopes have a top-bottom option
> set by default. Which means that if I write something like this
>
> AdsTable1.ScopeBegin := eSearch.text;
> AdsTable1.ScopeEnd := eSearch.text;
> AdsTable1.Scoped := True;
>
> For instance, if I type only the letter B in eSearch.text, I will get
> in the scope all the list of items that start with B through C not
> included.
>
> B123
> B554
> B945
> etc
>
> I am not too familiar with ranges but I guess only typing B in
> eSearch.text will get me nothing, unless I write other parameters,
> like RangeFrom = B and RangeEnd = B945 and applyrange would do it,
> although it's done implicitly with Advantage using scopes.
>
> It's may be a silly question but what parameters would you use with
> ranges to get the same result as ADS scopes?
>
>
> Thanks
> Pierre



Something like this..

table1.setrange(['B'],['Bz']);



--
Keith Johnson [NDX]
  #10  
Old 12th November 2003, 01:17 AM
Pierre Demers
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 3 questions

Hello Keith,

"> Something like this..
>
> table1.setrange(['B'],['Bz']);


I knew that, so what about the item Bzz ? <g> With your method I would have
to do some padding. I was more looking for a character like * or & or $ or
!, etc. that would do it for me....

BTW, inside a Nexus filter, can I use character like the above. In
Advantage, I can use :

eSearch.text + '*' // to get a partial match from the beginning
'$ ' + eSearch.text // to get a partial match from anywhere

etc. Is it documented somewhere?

Thanks
Pierre


---
Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 6.0.538 / Virus Database: 333 - Release Date: 2003-11-10




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some questions Alessandro Romano nexusdb.public.support.thirdparty 10 6th August 2005 03:36 AM
Some SQL questions Stefan Paege nexusdb.public.support.sql 3 6th February 2004 12:45 AM
Questions Lee nexusdb.public.discussions 9 1st October 2003 12:00 PM
More questions...to anyone who can help! Robert Meek nexusdb.public.support 29 18th August 2003 10:01 AM
Some questions Pierantonio Bovo nexusdb.public.support 1 11th July 2003 04:35 AM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.