#1  
Old 28th September 2018, 12:19 PM
tfield98 tfield98 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 2
Default OutputDebugString(PChar('Quality Suite:TRACING:ON'));

The help system says:

Quote:
When using trigger mode, tracing doesn?t start until a trigger routine executes. However, you may control the tracing from within your module by issuing calls to the standard Win32 API function OutputDebugString. Passing the argument "Quality Suite:TRACING:ON" switches tracing on and the argument "Quality Suite:TRACING:OFF" switches tracing off from within your code
I haven?t been able to get this to work.

My small test program traces fine if I set ?Always on? in the tool bar.

But if set the field to Trigger Activated?, I get no tracing after the code executes the line below:

OutputDebugString(PChar('Quality Suite:TRACING:ON'));

Any suggestions on what I might be doing wrong?
  #2  
Old 2nd October 2018, 11:16 AM
Eivind Eivind is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 181
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tfield98 View Post
The help system says:

I haven?t been able to get this to work.

My small test program traces fine if I set ?Always on? in the tool bar.

But if set the field to Trigger Activated?, I get no tracing after the code executes the line below:

OutputDebugString(PChar('Quality Suite:TRACING:ON'));

Any suggestions on what I might be doing wrong?
I'm sorry, it appears the help file was out of sync with the tools. For most of the tools, the exact strings to use are

NQS:TRACING:OFF
NQS:TRACING:ON

The only exception to this is the Method Timer, which replaces NQS above with METHODTIMER. I will change that for the next release to make all tools use the same NQS string, and update the help.
  #3  
Old 28th October 2018, 12:59 AM
tfield98 tfield98 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 2
Default NQS:TRACING:ON failing too

In a small test program, Method Timer works fine when run with Mode set to Always On.

However, when I run it with Trigger Activated, even after the two lines below being executed, I get no trace

Code:
outputdebugString(PChar('METHODTIMER:TRACING:ON'));
outputdebugString(PChar('NQS:TRACING:ON'));
Any suggestions on how to activate a trigger in the code in Version 1.6001?

Thanks.

Tom
  #4  
Old 17th November 2018, 05:37 PM
Eivind Bakkestuen [NDD]
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: OutputDebugString(PChar('Quality Suite:TRACING:ON'));

> PChar('METHODTIMER:TRACING:ON')

Sorry about the delay. Having done a test, it appears the above does
turn tracing on and off (you can see one line which changes in the
trace grid). However, there's only ever that one line, so there is a
problem getting a trace result. I will investigate and fix.

--
Eivind Bakkestuen [NDD]


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ann: Nexus Quality Suite 1.56 update for XE8 Eivind Bakkestuen [NDD] nexusdb.public.announcements 0 6th May 2015 11:44 PM
Ann: Nexus Quality Suite 1.56 update for XE8 Eivind Bakkestuen [NDD] nexusdb.public.support.qualitysuite 0 6th May 2015 11:44 PM
XE8 version of Nexus Quality Suite Nicholas Ring nexusdb.public.support.qualitysuite 2 19th April 2015 09:41 AM
Ann: Nexus Quality Suite - More Tools! Eivind Bakkestuen [NDD] nexusdb.public.support 0 24th February 2014 05:34 PM
Ann: Nexus Quality Suite - More Tools! Eivind Bakkestuen [NDD] nexusdb.public.announcements 0 24th February 2014 05:34 PM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.