#1  
Old 12th February 2019, 10:27 AM
robovideo robovideo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 14
Default Help with AWE setup

Hello

I'm trying to test a NexusDB AWE trial server instance on a quite large DB.
I followed instructions as mentioned in pdf and when server starts
then going to Statistics>Server Engine it shows:

Licence Key status : Trial; valid until 14/03/2019; Serial #Trial
AWE Edition: YES, Inactive
Block Cache Available: 1.572.864 kbyte

However, "AWE Edition: YES,Inactive" and "Block cache available = 1.5GB" let me think the configuration didnt go through.

MaxRAM was set to 4096 and "Lock pages in memory" privilege has been created for the user account running the server instance. PC also restarted; Nexusdb server instance is not started as a service but rather with /interactive switch. nxmm.dll is located in the same folder as server exe.

I'm trying on two different machines running Win7 64 and with trial NX server 4.50 publicly available downloaded from nexusdb.com.
I then tried by using an older NX server v 3.12 but outcome was the same.

Is "AWE Edition: YES, Inactive" and "Block Cache available=1.5GB" the expected result or perhaps using a trial licence adds some sort of limitation? Is there a configuration step I'm missing?

Any hint will be more than welcome.

Thanks

Luca
  #2  
Old 12th February 2019, 01:06 PM
Thorsten Engler [NDA]
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Help with AWE setup

Inactive means that you have not given the process the necessary rights to
access AWE.

Running the server is /interactive is deprecated. Generally speaking, you
shouldn't do that. (Among other reasons, because windows can end up killing
processes running on the user desktop on shutdown before the process has
managed to write all outstand changes to disk.)

For a process to be able to make use of the "lock pages in memory" privilge, it
needs to run elevated ("Run as Administor").

robovideo wrote:

>
> Hello
>
> I'm trying to test a NexusDB AWE trial server instance on a quite large
> DB.
> I followed instructions as mentioned in pdf and when server starts
> then going to Statistics>Server Engine it shows:
>
> Licence Key status : Trial; valid until 14/03/2019; Serial #Trial
> AWE Edition: YES, Inactive
> Block Cache Available: 1.572.864 kbyte
>
> However, "AWE Edition: YES,Inactive" and "Block cache available = 1.5GB"
> let me think the configuration didnt go through.
>
> *MaxRAM *was set to 4096 and "*Lock pages in memory*" privilege has been
> created for the user account running the server instance. PC also
> restarted; Nexusdb server instance is not started as a service but
> rather with /interactive switch. nxmm.dll is located in the same folder
> as server exe.
>
> I'm trying on two different machines running Win7 64 and with trial NX
> server 4.50 publicly available downloaded from nexusdb.com.
> I then tried by using an older NX server v 3.12 but outcome was the
> same.
>
> Is "AWE Edition: YES, Inactive" and "Block Cache available=1.5GB" the
> expected result or perhaps using a trial licence adds some sort of
> limitation? Is there a configuration step I'm missing?
>
> Any hint will be more than welcome.
>
> Thanks
>
> Luca


  #3  
Old 12th February 2019, 10:09 PM
robovideo robovideo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 14
Default

Hello,

thank You very much for reply, I see the point. Indeed running nxserver process with elevation or as a service works fine.

I have a question concerning the licence bound to machine: what would happen if one day the machine will need to partially replace hardware, for example installing a faster and performant disk controller or even a network card. Will the licence expire, is it required to buy another licence or is there some sort of renewal?

Thanks

Best Regards

Luca
  #4  
Old 12th February 2019, 10:43 PM
Thorsten Engler [NDA]
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Help with AWE setup

robovideo wrote:

> Hello,
>
> thank You very much for reply, I see the point. Indeed running nxserver
> process with elevation or as a service works fine.
>
> I have a question concerning the licence bound to machine: what would
> happen if one day the machine will need to partially replace hardware,
> for example installing a faster and performant disk controller or even a
> network card. Will the licence expire, is it required to buy another
> licence or is there some sort of renewal?


If the machine key should change (It's relatively forgiving about a lot of
changes) you can just request a new license key (letting us know that it's a
replacement for a previous key). There is no cost involved in this.


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Embedded AWE Setup - how to Eivind Bakkestuen [NDD] Binaries 0 19th April 2015 12:15 AM
setup sinkii nexusdb.public.support 4 1st June 2014 01:55 PM
setup sinkii nexusdb.public.support 0 28th May 2014 12:32 AM
inno setup sinkii nexusdb.public.support 0 27th May 2014 09:45 PM
Setup script Ad Franse nexusdb.public.discussions 1 9th September 2010 05:14 AM


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.